Potato-less prawn Fish Cakes

Prior to making these fish cakes I had never tried a prawn fish cake. I was slightly sceptical about it as I’ve tried to make prawn burgers before an they were a total disaster. They aren’t the same thing but the concept it pretty similar. If you follow me on Instagram you would be aware that a week ago or so  I found out that I am intolerant to white potato. It’s not something that has a big impact on my life as I prefer sweet potato.

 But As most fish cakes contain potato the creative side of me wanted the challenge. I decided to adapt my quinoa patties recipes (which I will be posting soon) to make the fish cakes.  Quinoa is a great binding agent to use as an alternative to potato or flour  in recipe like this.  I couldn’t be happier with the result of these fish cakes. They are light and full of flavour . Can be eaten either hot or cold. On its own with a dip or salsa.  even accompanied by a salad for a light lunch or dinner. 

Makes: 6-7 

Total time: 18 minutes 

Ingredients: 

2/3 cup of cook quinoa 

1 carrot grated 

1/2 courgette grated 

Handful of Basil finely chopped

Handful of Coriander finely chopped

Pinch of Himalayan Salt 

Large pinch of black pepper

250g prawns washed and deveined 

Method:

To a food processor add the prawns  and whizz until the prawns no long resemble they natural state. Add the prawns and all the other ingredients to a bowl and using your hands combined everything together.

Heat a frying pan on a medium to low heat  and add the oil.  Once the oil is hot. Take a hand full of the mixture and mound into a ball then flatten into the shape of a fish cake and place in frying pan continue until u have 6 patties. Fry 7 minutes or until the patties are golden brown and then gently flip over and repeat on the other side for another 7 minutes. 

Tip: try not to move the patties around to much or they will break apart.

Serve 


Jade X 

Leave a Reply

